“I divide every euro I earn into eight different savings funds”

Published on: 6 August 2021

How do you deal with work and money for now and in the future? Do you live from day to day or are you deliberately planning your financial future? And do you arrange ‘later’ yourself or are you participating in a pension fund?

Janneke de Boer is orthomolecular intestine therapist: “My house is my most important retirement provision.”



Janneke de Boer (38)

Profession: Orthomolecular intestine therapist

Weekly works: Approximately 40 hours in four days

Income: 3,300 euro + rental income

Savings: 15,000 euro

Pension is arranged? Somewhat


What does your work entail?

“Talking about poop and piss, simply said. That's why people sometimes refer to me as Miss Poopoo. I run my own practice in orthomolecular intestine therapy since 2016 where I treat people with all kinds of complaints, ranging from obstipation and diarrhea to vague stomach or skin problems. Yes, you read it correctly, the skin is also connected to intestines. Just like everything in the body is interconnected.”


So, as a child you came up with the idea of working with poop?

“Well, not immediately. At first I practiced what I am doing now, natural medicine, as a hobby alongside my work. I didn't even know it was an actual profession. When I found out it was, I started my training within a week. I just liked it very much! It's very interesting and powerful to know how the human body is structured, how it all works. If that engine is running properly, it enables you to grow old in a good and healthy way. We all want to postpone death as long as possible but can also terribly neglect our most important possession: our body. I find it truly magical to see how the body is able to cure itself.”


What other types of work have you done so far?

“I started as an art designer at the art academy and then studied to become a history teacher. I was a teacher for a while and also worked in the hospitality business and as a real estate agent. It bored me to do the same job five days in a row and have always done multiple things simultaneously. Otherwise I get that feeling of being bored really quickly.”


You hold this job for about five years now, don't you get tired of it yet?

“I still do a lot of other things alongside my job. I also provide online training, guide and treat people one-on-one and perform fecal examinations. I prepare live broadcasts on Instagram during which I give an explanation on all kinds of poop-related subjects and I organize webinars for companies. I am always engaged in my profession, but constantly in a different way. That's what keeps it fun.”


How many hours do you work?

“I always used to work five days per week, but recently thought: Why am I actually doing that? I was jealous of my friends with children who only worked four days per week, until I realized I am the one controlling my own hours. Now I work really hard for four days and have three days to relax and enjoy my free time. Although I also work quite often on my day off, Monday, when jobs are passed by me that I just enjoy doing. I see about ten clients per week, all on my own. I have now come to the point that I have a bit too much work just for me, but don't earn enough money yet to hire someone.”


I always used to work five days per week, but recently thought: Why am I actually doing that?”

How much do you earn?

“Well, these past months were crap, but prior to Corona about 3,300 euro gross. New projects are emerging and I have booked three new clients this month, so things are heading in the right direction again.”


Do you think you earn enough?

“No, I would like to see my turnover increase. It's okay for now, I am able to make ends meet. Of course, I would like to have a turnover of 10,000 euro per month, in which case I would also have staff and transfer some of my clients. My ultimate goal is to establish a center for intestine recovery, a center providing care from A to Z with different specialties. That's what I am working towards, that's my big dream.”


How much do you pay on fixed costs?

“I have bought a house in The Hague and pay 800 euro per month on my mortgage. But I also rent out part of my house which earns me almost that same amount. This provides a passive income I don't have to work extra for. In terms of fixed costs, that leaves me with the bills for gas, water, electricity, my contribution to the ANWB (Dutch tourist association), telephone, internet and Netflix. I don't have television. I am a member of the Postcodeloterij (national postal code lottery) though, but just because I wouldn't be able to cope with the entire street winning a lot of money and I don't.”

What else do you spend your money on?

“I'm not really a big spender, but I don't have any money left at the end of the month, so it had to be spent on something… I think groceries is a big expense as I am definitely not saving money on foodstuffs. I often buy organic produce and those products are not cheap. I also enjoy going out for the day, so a lot of money is spent on petrol. I share a car with my mother, but that thing is consuming petrol like crazy. I also spend money on books and cookbooks and on herbs and essential oils. Spending money on clothing or going out for drinks or dinner is not really my thing.”


How much savings do you have?

“I save a lot, for the ‘just in case’ stuff. I have now saved about 15,000 euro and I am really not touching that money. I determine an amount I am allowed to spend on a monthly basis, I aim at a minimum of 1,000 euro, and that's really the maximum amount I use. If I see a nice dress when my monthly allowance is spent, I make myself wait until next month. Some people believe that to be strict, but it works for me. I have eight different savings funds into which I divide my income. 40 percent is put aside for my turnover tax, even though I know I have to pay a lot less at the end, but it also allows for a nice savings fund. Other than that, I have a fund for Corona, my car, holidays, operating expenses, income, work disability and private savings. I divide every euro I earn into all those funds.”


Have you arranged anything for your pension?

“My house is my pension as that's now appraised with an excess value of 200k. I am also planning to buy a second house to rent out. Let's say that earns my 2000 euro per month, plus AOW (state pension), that would be great. My fund for work disability also amounts to 20,000 euro, so I think all of those funds together will help me make ends meet later on. And if not, I will just live in a tent, LOL.”


How much would you like to receive per month following your retirement?

“You know what: I really haven't thought about that yet? It’s also very difficult to estimate. Whatever amount you now think you'll be needing later on, may have just as well lost its value by then due to inflation. If I would earn the same amount then as I earn now, proportionally, that would be okay for me.”


How do you envisage your life by then?

“Among the plants surrounding my house in France I hope to own by then. If you look deep down inside my heart, I wouldn't mind being there already. The sooner I am able to stop working, the greater it would be. But I also think I will always do something to keep busy.”